Our Solar System

Here on planets for kids we will explain the planets within Solar System , that there are eight planets that orbit the Sun which are, Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. These 8 planets can then be separated into two planetary categories, Terrestrial Planet and Gas Giant.

The Terrestrial Planets consist of Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars, and the Gas Giants which do not have solid surfaces are Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.

The Planets In Order

Click here to download a PDF worksheet for the planets in our Solar System.

The four Gas Giants can be spilt again into a sub category called Ice Giant which consists of Uranus and Neptune due to their makeup being made up of large quantities of ice and rock.

Planets were classified by the International Astronomical Union in 2006 as a celestial body that orbits around a star, such as our Sun and are large enough to form a sphere under its own gravity.

Planets For Kids